A New Year Celebration And A Divorce Declaration- 3

​’ Oh! Shiks! Yea’ Anita screamed and pointed her index finger at her. ‘ That’s just it’.
 They gave one another a high five and faced Emily to give her. She wearily gave them a high-five each.
 She needed a thorough bath and all these girls could talk about was their desire to sleep with a guy.  ‘ I’m sorry I can’t’.
‘ Why?’ Anita asked.
‘ I’m tired’.
‘ Oh! I get. Mustapha must have made you weak’, Shikemi winked. ‘ You can always rest. This is still 12pm. We will meet at our hiding place by 5pm’.
‘ What place?’ Anita asked.
‘ I’m not doing?’ Emily said with a tired voice.
‘ It’s on the ground floor’, Shikemi said and faced Emily. ‘ You must o. I can’t miss this rare opportunity for anything’.
 ‘ Aren’t you tired?’ Emily asked.
‘ So, there’s a secret room. Make sense’, Anita said with great excitement.
‘ I’m not tired, Emo’.
 Emily was perplexed. Whatever was wrong with Shikemi was beyond what she could comprehend. Her eyes dashed to the door as the voice of children could be heard in front of it. The children hit the door and their voice faded again.
 Emily spoke with lowered voice. ‘ What of Peterson, Shikemi?’
‘ What happened to him’, Anita asked.
‘ You said you would sleep with him today’.
 Anita sat straight, amused. ‘ Oh my my…Wow’. She fondled Shikemi’s cheek. ‘ You beat my imagination’.
 ‘ Ehen?’ Shikemi said, staring non-chalantly. ‘ I’ve slept with him. How many minutes? I even slept with Anita’.
‘ Today?’
‘ Yes’, both of them answered. They glanced at one another. Shikemi winked. Anita blew her a kiss and winked.
 Emily shook her head. What have she gotten herself into? She was in deep mess. They all needed help. But their parents were too engrossed in whatever situation they were refusing to talk about, and won’t be able to help her or anyone of them.
‘ What do you say?’ Shikemi asked.
‘ Consider the fun’.
‘ No’
‘ Consider us’.
‘ No- No. In fact, whatever we did is in the past and won’t occur again’.
‘ Emily’ Anita said, ‘ don’t say that. Look at her’.
 Shikemi face had suddenly become hardened. Emily knew that face. But how would that be her concern? She was tired of them, of their newly found passion, of everything.
‘ Okay. Okay. Anita said. ‘ What about the secret? I will tell you’.
 Emily sat straight.  She hardened her lips and stared at her. Despite her desire to know what secret Anita had over her, she was tired of having regular sex. She thought if she did it, Shikemi would love her. And indeed, she did loved her but just not in the way she wanted. The person that now loved her wasn’t the playful, pure lovely Shikemi; it was a lustful one, who kept demanding they had sexual fun. And since the two of them were trying to gain admission into the University, they had the house to themselves.
‘ No. Leave the secret.
Shikemi hardened and widened her lips and shook her head as she stared at Anita.
‘ Then, I have no other option than to tell your parents about everything you’ve done’.
‘ Is it by force?’
‘ Yes!’
‘ Why?’
‘ Look at your body. Anybody would die to have such. Coke shape’, Anita said as she began to caress Emily’s face. Both Emily and Shikemi slapped her hand away.
‘ She’s mine’ Shikemi growled.
‘ Sorry…’
Emily was perplexed. ‘ Wait. What? Me? Yours? Are you…?
She rolled her index finger around her head. She hit her chest as she rose from her bed. Her eyes were fixed on Shikemi and her mouth was opened as she repeatedly touch her chest and pointed at her. 
‘ Before you say anything’, Anita said, rising from the bed. ‘ Are you willing to bear the shame of me telling your parents?’
‘ You will also suffer for it’, Emily said.
‘ Everybody knows I’m a bad girl’
‘ Shikemi will also bear a part of it’
‘ They won’t be as disappointed as they would be for you that you their most prized gentle girl was involved in that rubbish’
‘ Okay. Just leave my room. Leave my room ‘ She screamed.
‘ Remember 5pm’, Shikemi said as she stood to leave.
‘ And you, Anita, remember my secret and  that’s my last time’.
‘ After we finish’.
When they left, she rushed to lock the door, entered the bathroom, poured a cold bucket of water on head, sat on the ground and cried.

Chapter 3
Insistence: One of father’s character she loved. Well, when used angrily it was called stubbornness. He was a very stubborn man and wouldn’t take any rubbish from his children. And that had made a lot of family members and neighbours refer to Emily and Shikemi as very respectful. His stubbornness had helped in training them to be good children. Well, that was two years ago. The only part of him still insistent was the part where he made sure all members of both his and Emily’s mother families were around for the new year celebration. And he insisted that they made sure they didn’t bring their friends or little ones or spouses. But some were just as adamant as he was: they brought all of these except friends. The number of people in the house made it very difficult to know who was missing. For example, no one was concerned about the children playing like two of the little children, Precious and Semilore, who kept running in and out of the house without obstruction, who ran to the ground floor and back without supervision. So no one was concerned about Emily’s sharp scream as she regained consciousness. Her scream was more out of ectasy than out of pain.
‘ I knew you would like it’, Anita said.
 They were both naked and were sweating. Her own hands were tied to the bed posts.
 ‘ Ah… ‘ She screamed out of anger as Anita kissed her and caressed her. ‘ Get off me. Get off me’.
‘ You are screaming like a baby. I’ve taken a lot of trainings in Judo and Karate. And that was why I was able to take you out easily’, Anita said and winked.
Emily screamed as Anita climbed her. ‘ Get off me, Anita. Get off me’.
Anita smiled at her and checked the knots of the rope’ I’m sorry. I can’t’.
As she started performing acts on her, Emily moaned. Then someone knocked.
‘ Who…?’
Anita covered her mouth. 
‘Emo…’ Shikemi called.
‘Jeez…’ Anita said and jumped off the bed. ‘ Darn…’
She hurriedly wore her clothes. And rushed to loosen the ropes. ‘ If you won’t tell Shiks what happened, I will tell you your secret’.
Emily held her breathe. Shikemi knocked again.
‘ Emo… I know you are in there. We have to talk. It is very important’.
‘ When will you tell me’, Emily whispered.
‘ Today…’
Anita hurriedly packed the rope and dumped them under the bed. Emily also wore her gown. It felt stuffy. She needed something shorter. But that would be after Shikemi left. 
She rushed to the door. ‘ I’m sorry. Anita was dressing up’.
 Shikemi winked. ‘ I never knew you two were now getting along’.
‘ She just came here to make an adjustment in her dress’.
‘ Nita, what happened? I expected you but you didn’t show up’.
 Emily felt like strangling them. So they were planning to enjoy themselves. No wonder Shikemi didn’t invite her.
‘ I’m sorry. I bumped into an old friend. And I didn’t find you in your room’.
‘You met an old friend. Here?’
‘ Yes. Solomon…’
‘ Oh! God.’ Shikemi said and fluttered her hands as if they were a bird’s wings. ‘ Where is he?’
‘He said he had to go early. So he has left. But Baba Agba almost caught me there. I escaped. If he caught me, he would start ranting about how my dad wasted a fortune to bring back to Fortune city from America. Let me leave you two to talk’,
‘ No, Nita. Stay. You are already aware of what I want to tell Emo or some part of it’.
 Emily stared at her and wondered why she picked that day of the several days they had. They had spent so many unholy days together. Such days would have been a great one to tell her whatever she felt she needed to say. Not today.
‘ Shikemi, I can’t listen to you. I need to be alone’.
Emily just wanted to be in the bathroom to wash Mustapha’s betrayal off her body and to rid her mind off what Anita just did to her. But Shikemi’s face was so bright that Emily couldn’t resist the temptation to listen to whatever she wanted to tell her.
‘ Just listen to me first and take a light bath afterward’, Shikemi said and lowered her voice,’ you will still take another bath today’.
‘ Shiks, this is sounding intriguing’, Anita said and flipped her long dark hair.
‘ Nita, you don’t want to miss anything’.
 Emily remembered that line was from one of Shikemi’s favourite movies, she just couldn’t remember which.
‘ You remember when we went to Nita’s place for holidays’, Shikemi said. Her happy face gradually faded into a sullen one.
‘ How will I ever forget?’ Emily said as she threw a scornful glance at Anita.
Whatever made Shikemi suddenly hated her started after their visit to Anita’s house, after the holidays.
‘ Can you remember Uncle Shegs was also there at that time?’
‘ Yes…’
‘ That time…. If you remember, I decided to play with him.  Remember that day you all went out. He asked me to stay behind with him, to keep him company’.
 Emily sat straight. She remembered everything. When they returned from visiting her father’s cousin, they met her crying. Uncle Segun said she fell. 
‘ He raped me’.
‘ Oh my God’, Emily exclaimed and glance at Anita, who didn’t look surprised. ‘ Anita knew about this already?’
Shikemi nodded.’ Yes. She did’.
‘ So, that means you had a hand in it… You’
‘ What?’ Anita said.
‘ No’, Shikemi said.
‘ I don’t believe her’.
‘ But she couldn’t. She wasn’t a part of it. Remember, she insisted I followed her, but I was gullible and I fell to Sheg’s plan’.
 Emily fumed. She needed something to hold on to, something to make Anita cry. The pain Anita had caused her was more than enough, and she wanted to see her in pain.
‘ Was that why you used to do all you did to me?’ Emily asked Shikemi.
 Shikemi and Anita glanced at one another and at her, and they nodded comically. They were lying but she had no proof and she didn’t want to push it further. It took Shikemi a long time to start opening up to her again. So it would be very foolish of her to push her for more on that issue.
‘ I’m sorry about what he did’.
Shikemi brushed the air with the back of her hand. ‘ I’ve forgotten the pain. Thanks to Nita here’.
‘ Good. Now, let me take my bath’, Emily said and stood to leave.
Shikemi pulled her hand. ‘ Sit down, Emo’.
‘ I’m tired. I thought you are through with what you want to say’.
 ‘ So…’ Shikemi said and winked at Anita whose gaze was fixed on her. Shikemi laughed. ‘ I know that look Nita. I love the suspense.. Okay. Okay. Let me break the ice. Shegs is here. He is here’.
‘ Uncle Segun’, Emily said. She and Shikemi had always fantasized about his body structure and everything about his physique. There, she understood why Shikemi was always talking about his strength in bed: she had encountered him before.
‘ I accosted him the moment I saw him’.
‘ You did?’ Anita said, flipping her hair and shifted forward.
‘ Yes. I did. I told him he doesn’t scare me any longer and that I would tell everyone about our ordeal. At first he proved stubborn’.
‘ Trust him. God! Shiks, I wish I have your boldness’, Anita said.
‘ You?’ Shikemi asked. They burst into laughter.
‘ Ehn… What now happened?’ Anita asked.
‘ I teased him’
Emily looked at both of them. Despite her desire to run to the bathroom, she was knee-deep into Shikemi’s tale and must hear the end. ‘ I don’t understand’.
‘ Bad girl’, Anita hailed. ‘ wait sef. Where were you…The two of you?’
‘ I took him to the backyard. You know that place rarely see visitors, Emo?’
 Emily nodded. How will she forget that when Shikemi and Anita had once tied her up for more than four hours, at the backyard, until her Dad arrived. And God was her witness, they had their share the next day. She drugged them to sleep for hours and they woke in the hospital.
‘ I told him I saw the way he had been staring at us all day’.
‘ I’m sure if he sees Emily, he wouldn’t leave until something happens’.
‘ Yeahh!’ Shikemi said and raised her palm for a high five which Anita gave her. They giggled. ‘ Even with her hideous gowns, she’s too appalling’.
‘ Girl!’ Anita said. ‘ Your vocab is skyrocketing’.
‘ Thanks to your various cassettes and those novels’. They both burst into laugher.
As usual, Emily felt alienated between them. They had their way of talking around her without her getting a single word of words they are saying.
‘ So, what’s the plan?’
‘ I was thinking we could try that erm…’ Shikemi lowered her voice, looked around and pointed four fingers at Anita.
‘ Oh! Shiks! Yea’ Anita screamed and pointed her index finger at her. ‘ That’s just it’.
 They gave one another a high five and faced Emily to give her. She wearily gave them a high-five each.
 She needed a thorough bath and all these girls could talk about was their desire to sleep with a guy.  ‘ I’m sorry I can’t’.
‘ Why?’ Anita asked.
‘ I’m tired’.
‘ Oh! I get. Mustapha must have made you weak’, Shikemi winked. ‘ You can always rest. This is still 12pm. We will meet at our hiding place by 5pm’.
‘ What place?’ Anita asked.
‘ I’m not doing?’ Emily said with a tired voice.
‘ It’s on the ground floor’, Shikemi said and faced Emily. ‘ You must o. I can’t miss this rare opportunity for anything’.
 ‘ Aren’t you tired?’ Emily asked.
‘ So, there’s a secret room. Make sense’, Anita said with great excitement.
‘ I’m not tired, Emo’.
 Emily was perplexed. Whatever was wrong with Shikemi was beyond what she could comprehend. Her eyes dashed to the door as the voice of children could be heard in front of it. The children hit the door and their voice faded again.
 Emily spoke with lowered voice. ‘ What of Peterson, Shikemi?’
‘ What happened to him’, Anita asked.
‘ You said you would sleep with him today’.
 Anita sat straight, amused. ‘ Oh my my…Wow’. She fondled Shikemi’s cheek. ‘ You beat my imagination’.
 ‘ Ehen?’ Shikemi said, staring non-chalantly. ‘ I’ve slept with him. How many minutes? I even slept with Anita’.
‘ Today?’
‘ Yes’, both of them answered. They glanced at one another. Shikemi winked. Anita blew her a kiss and winked.
 Emily shook her head. What have she gotten herself into? She was in deep mess. They all needed help. But their parents were too engrossed in whatever situation they were refusing to talk about, and won’t be able to help her or anyone of them.
‘ What do you say?’ Shikemi asked.
‘ Consider the fun’.
‘ No’
‘ Consider us’.
‘ No- No. In fact, whatever we did is in the past and won’t occur again’.
‘ Emily’ Anita said, ‘ don’t say that. Look at her’.
 Shikemi face had suddenly become hardened. Emily knew that face. But how would that be her concern? She was tired of them, of their newly found passion, of everything.
‘ Okay. Okay. Anita said. ‘ What about the secret? I will tell you’.
 Emily sat straight.  She hardened her lips and stared at her. Despite her desire to know what secret Anita had over her, she was tired of having regular sex. She thought if she did it, Shikemi would love her. And indeed, she did loved her but just not in the way she wanted. The person that now loved her wasn’t the playful, pure lovely Shikemi; it was a lustful one, who kept demanding they had sexual fun. And since the two of them were trying to gain admission into the University, they had the house to themselves.
‘ No. Leave the secret.
Shikemi hardened and widened her lips and shook her head as she stared at Anita.
‘ Then, I have no other option than to tell your parents about everything you’ve done’.
‘ Is it by force?’
‘ Yes!’
‘ Why?’
‘ Look at your body. Anybody would die to have such. Coke shape’, Anita said as she began to caress Emily’s face. Both Emily and Shikemi slapped her hand away.
‘ She’s mine’ Shikemi growled.
‘ Sorry…’
Emily was perplexed. ‘ Wait. What? Me? Yours? Are you…?
She rolled her index finger around her head. She hit her chest as she rose from her bed. Her eyes were fixed on Shikemi and her mouth was opened as she repeatedly touch her chest and pointed at her. 
‘ Before you say anything’, Anita said, rising from the bed. ‘ Are you willing to bear the shame of me telling your parents?’
‘ You will also suffer for it’, Emily said.
‘ Everybody knows I’m a bad girl’
‘ Shikemi will also bear a part of it’
‘ They won’t be as disappointed as they would be for you that you their most prized gentle girl was involved in that rubbish’
‘ Okay. Just leave my room. Leave my room ‘ She screamed.
‘ Remember 5pm’, Shikemi said as she stood to leave.
‘ And you, Anita, remember my secret and  that’s my last time’.
‘ After we finish’.
When they left, she rushed to lock the door, entered the bathroom, poured a cold bucket of water on head, sat on the ground and cried.

, Anita said.
 They were both naked and were sweating. Her own hands were tied to the bed posts.
 .
 Emily sat straight. She remembered everything. When they returned from visiting her father

Leave a Reply

